Beginning Singing; One Story

I can’t remember if it was hot or cold, Summer or Winter in my first singing lesson. I do remember the pip of anxiety gnawing away inside. I knew the teacher auditioned her students and wasn’t sure exactly what that meant.

My teacher asked me to do a bunch of kooky things like blowing raspberries…and singing scales where my confidence swung wildly between thinking I knew what I was doing, to not having a clue.

At the time, I wanted nothing more than to sing jazz. The teacher pulled out ‘I Cover the Waterfront’. I did my best to fumble my way through the notes, and make it sound like a song.

I had no idea about the kind of journey I started on that day. I just knew that I loved singing, and was so excited when the teacher said she would take me on.

Courage is not the absence of fear, but doing something even though you’re afraid.
I stretched my comfort zone that day, and found something that turned into a life long passion.

How do you stretch your comfort zone?

Leave a Reply

